Fake it ’til you make it

Image I have a confession to make… Ever since I gave up my plots at a local community garden six months ago, I have slowly gone into a food depression. I don’t know what else to call it but that. I had spent the previous five years or so learning how to grow and make my own food, been on a campaign to reduce chemicals in my system by making my own detergents, deodorants, etc. and eliminating prescription and over-the-counter drugs, and have significantly increased my physical activities by adding hiking, running, and martial arts to my yoga, softball, and dancing hobbies. All of these efforts were to make myself healthier, self-sufficient, and independent. After giving up the garden, I bought produce from the farmers markets and healthier stores like Sprouts or Jimbo’s. But knowing that nutrients in fresh produce degenerate as soon as they are harvested, I quickly developed a slight resentment for them. When I realized that even some of the produce I picked from my friend’s farm went unused, I searched myself for answers. What I discovered missing was the total mind/body connection I had developed with the food I ate. I had not grown other people’s produce from seed and watched them grow their first leaves or bear fruit as I had mine. Image Nor I did not get to play with my garden’s pollinators on a regular basis like I used to at my own garden. Image Creating stories in my mind like I did with the cobras in this flower were a regular occurrence. Image   As were discoveries in nature during my meditative walk-abouts to see what the other gardeners were growing. Image   Without these connections to the food I was cooking, my interest had slowly diminished. I started to eat out more, initially eating in healthy food places, but eventually venturing into fast food. When tonight my 20-year old son said “no” to the free sandwich from using a coupon that came in the mail, I knew i had to rethink things. Instead of going into Carl’s Jr., I went into Vons. I knew I was making the right choice in cooking my food tonight, but it was still a struggle. The chemistry in my mind, and my body and emotions had gotten used to take out foods. Since I know it takes time to get back into my previous healthier habits, I will adopt the philosophy of “fake it ’til you make it.” Starting with a giant zucchini from my friend’s farm, I created the easy salmon dish you see in the photo at the beginning. Sifu Zuc After cleaning the salmon (bought at the “manager’s special” section and was actually pretty good), I cut it into large chunks and marinated with a Thai ginger marinade for about 30 minutes and added a pinch of sea salt. I thinly sliced some shallots and cooked that in a wok with a little oil, then added the thinly sliced zucchini. Cook for just a few minutes to get the desired doneness (tip: the less you cook veggies, the more nutrients you retain) and remove from the wok. I then added a smidge more oil and cooked the salmon in the same wok which cooked rather quickly, about a minute or two each side. Remove and eat! While I didn’t grow this food or make the marinade like I have learned to in the past, this is definitely a step back in the right direction! Onward, forward to a more delicious, healthy being 🙂 IMG_2295

8 thoughts on “Fake it ’til you make it

    1. Indeed! They grow like weeds once the plant is established. Home grown is definitely yummier than store bought. I had given up my garden plots to make time and space in my life to pursue other interests; wilderness & camping survival, my varied art forms, independent business, and most importantly, learning how to be still.

Leave a Reply

