Public Shaming Leads to A Young Girl’s Suicide

Show me a child who deserves any abuse and what they have done, and maybe I’ll understand. Maybe, but probably not.

A few days ago a 15 second video showed up online. It showed a young girl who appeared to be twelve or thirteen years old. She’s standing in a room looking at the phone camera. She appears to be afraid. The camera then shows the floor where there is a pile of long black hair. A taunting male voice says, “The consequences of getting messed up? Man, you lost all that beautiful hair. Was it worth it?”

The girl stares at her hair on the floor. She very quietly says, “No.”

“How many times did I warn you?”

She almost inaudibly says, “Twice.”

He then says, “Okay.” as if he has proved a point. The video ends.

A screenshot from the video her father took after cutting her hair as a punishment. A screenshot from the video her father took after cutting her hair as a punishment.

Yesterday this same young girl got out of the passenger seat of her grandmother’s car on the South…

View original post 437 more words

2 thoughts on “Public Shaming Leads to A Young Girl’s Suicide

  1. This is so sad, and brings out a lot of anger, too. Humiliation is not a consequence or discipline for misbehavior; it’s gratuitous cruelty. Its sole purpose is to assert dominance, and allow someone to “vent” on someone smaller and weaker. It doesn’t inspire respect, but more likely a desire for revenge. My parents’ “nuclear option” (which they never came close to doing) when we were small was the threat, “I’m gonna take you into the middle of the street, pull your pants down in front of everybody, and paddle you.”

    My heart goes out to this young girl, and to anyone who’s ever been treated this way.

    1. You are absolutely correct on all of your points. Often, when I would lash out at my own kids, it would be due to my own frustrations and confusions at what’s happening. And when I would do it, I’d be filed with grief, shame, and anger with myself afterward. And all of those emotions would just compound the situation. Over time, I learned that the best thing I could do was walk away from a situation.

      I didn’t always have the answer or the wisdom to know how to handle difficult things. And my kids didn’t deserve to be made to suffer for that.

      Thank you for sharing your heart with us, dear friend. I wish you (and myself!) well on your journey of continued healing and evolving into who you want to be.

Leave a Reply

